Our Guests’ Reviews

‘Fabulous setting and a warm welcome – Such a picturesque setting, with a stream and little bridges in the grounds, a beautiful house and church – we loved our stay here. We stayed in the Apple Store and had a twin room for our elder children. We lit a fire, used the hot tub and watched a film when the weather was inclement which was lovely. The breakfasts were delicious. However, what made this place very special was the warm hospitality extended by Jo who looked after us so well. We would highly recommend Monk Haven Manor and would love to come back one day.’

Tim Skudder, Jersey (Q-book)
8.8.2017

‘Beautiful stay for a trip to Skomer Island – My girlfriend and I stayed at MonkHaven Manor specifically to see the puffins on Skomer Island. We’d read the reviews about how they collected the tickets for you and this was an attractive enough proposition in itself. We’d travelled to Skomer Island once before 8 years ago to see the puffins, leaving Cardiff at 6am and driving the 2 hour trip to Penbrokeshire only to arrive early and find out that all the tickets had been sold. So, the thought that we travelled up the day before stayed in some beautiful surroundings and had the tickets collected for us was a great idea. We arrived at around 6pm and had already used the food recommendations on the Monk Haven Manor website to pre-order two pizzas from Camille’s Pizza and Pasta. I couldn’t find them on TripAdvisor but you get the most delicious stone baked pizza from a little workshop in the back of Camille’s garden in Marloes, around a 10 minute drive away. It was only open Friday – Sunday when we were there and we ordered via WhatsApp. Amazing. You can find Camille’s Pizza and Pasta on Facebook. Monk Haven Manor is set in a little wooded valley with a vicarage Manor house where the owners live and some converted stables/barns where the visitors stay. We had only booked a few days earlier……’

...more

Luke Reddy, Cardiff (Trip Advisor)
10.7.17

‘Wonderful haven of tranquility – This is possibly one of the best places I have ever stayed. We stayed in the Apple Store which had everything we could need – a little kitchenette, comfy sofa, wood burner and best of all a hot tub (what a treat)! One of the reasons I chose to stay at Monk Haven Manor was because each little cottage has it’s own outdoor seating area and the Apple Store’s outdoor area was very private and very pretty to sit out in. The breakfasts are amazing, we also ordered packed lunches every day as they were such good value and very convenient. Jo is such a wonderful host and goes out of her way to make sure you have a wonderful stay, nothing seems too much trouble and they all work so hard to make Monk Haven Manor such a special place. I have nothing negative to say and will definitely be back.’

Cath Jagger, Cardiff (Trip Advisor)

14.7.17 

‘Very Comfortable – Peaceful location and quality, very comfortable accommodation set in beautiful grounds. We stayed for 3 nights in the Brynach room and received a warm, friendly welcome from the Manager Jo who is on hand to offer a personal service to guests and ensure that all needs are met. Great breakfast selection, top quality, fresh ingredients all perfectly cooked and served with exact timing. Monk Haven will also obtain Skomer Landing tickets on your behalf if you ask them, a nice touch and a real bonus when you would rather be enjoying breakfast than standing in the early morning queue! Really happy to have discovered Monk Haven Manor and in future it will be our first choice of accommodation when visiting the area. Thank you again Jo for looking after us so well.’

Denise Kearny, Wirral (Q-book)

13.7.17

‘I would recommend Monk Haven Manor – My husband and I stayed for one night. We were going over to stay on Skomer Island the following day and so wanted a B & B nearby. The room and facilities were good with a comfortable bed and wet room shower.The setting was very peaceful. Jo was extremely welcoming and we appreciated the fact that she made my husband breakfast earlier than usual and made a bacon sandwich for me to take away with gluten free bread – it was very tasty! I would definitely recommend Monk Haven and would stay here again.’

Sue Brown, Gobion (Q-book)

8.7.17

 

‘Fantastic – Just returned from a one night break at Monk Haven Manor with the specific aim of visiting Skomer and the puffins. We were not disappointed on any count. Jo warmly greeted us on our arrival and showed us to our en suite room in the Manor House. It was excellent in every aspect and the comfortable bed, with crisp white linen, gave a great night’s sleep. The modern, stylish ensuite was large with a rain shower and spotlessly clean with fluffy soft white towels, bath robes and complimentary toiletries. Tea and coffee were available in the room and although there is currently not a fridge in situ Jo was very mindful to ensure we always had fresh milk. Tickets for Skomer are in short supply and are issued on a first come first served basis so what a wonderful bonus that the tickets are collected by some kind person whilst we sat and enjoyed a most delicious and filling breakfast. A plentiful packed lunch is also available for days out as is an evening hamper for those who prefer to stay in. This B&B is truly amazing and although remote is just the most relaxing and peaceful place to stay. We would have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone and we really hope to return for a longer stay sometime in the future. Thank you Jo for everything especially the loan of the sun hat and sunscreen which were much appreciated.”

Tina Ametrano, England (Q-book)

5.6.17

“Lovely Stay” – From booking the trip, to travelling and staying Jo did an amazing job arranging everything, so helpful with the location, directions and where to go and visit. The location was down a narrow lane, right in the country. Rooms large, clean and very comfortable, with TV and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was a varied choice of cooked and fresh fruits. The lovely thing about Monk Haven is that they would go and queue for your ticket for Skomer Island so you could have a relaxing breakfast – great service. We very much enjoyed our 3 night stay.”

Alison Mees, Tanzania (Trip Advisor)
July 2017

“Haven Indeed – Monk Haven is a fantastic place–joyful proprietors have given the manor a wonderfully lively and infectious energy. Breakfasts were our hands-down favorite from our UK tour–simple fresh food prepared with care and skill (and those eggs! yolks exactly the color of Aperol aperitif, beautiful and delicious). We used TomTom SatNav to find our way–the roads are tricky, but worth the effort. It was an easy walk to The Brook Inn in the evenings and coastal trails during the day. We got tickets to Skomer Island and packed lunches, both made that trip carefree and easy. Thanks to Monk Haven folks for the terrific introduction to southern Wales. Can’t wait to go back!”

Tim and Beth, Colorado (Trip Advisor)

June 2017

“Fabulous – Just returned home from 4 peaceful, relaxing days in the Apple Store. Amazing location, staff and facilities. The hot tub was a bonus after a long days walking in the beautiful countryside. We will be back! Thanks Jo for a brilliant time. We whole-hearted recommend this stunning b&b.”

Anne Moore, Corby (Trip Advisor)
June 2017

‘Wonderful visit’ Our second visit to this fantastic B&B. First visited a year ago as a base to visit Skomer; we were so impressed with the warm welcome by Jo and the beautiful location that it was the only B&B we considered for a return visit with my husband\’s family. The breakfast was delicious and set us up for a day on Skomer and the packed lunch fantastic. Amazing homemade bread, cake, jams and chutneys, thank you Jan. Alex left early in the morning to buy our Skomer landing passes meaning we didn\’t have to rush off early and queue but were able to have a relaxed and delicious breakfast. Rooms beautifully clean and fresh, the whole experience was wonderful. Very highly recommended!”

Sandra Lambert, Kidlington (Q-Book)

June 2017

‘Fantastic ‘ Just returned from a one night break at Monk Haven Manor with the specific aim of visiting Skomer and the puffins. We were not disappointed on any count. Jo warmly greeted us on our arrival and showed us to our en suite room in the Manor House. It was excellent in every aspect and the comfortable bed, with crisp white linen, gave a great night’s sleep. The modern, stylish ensuite was large with a rain shower and spotlessly clean with fluffy soft white towels, bath robes and complimentary toiletries. Tea and coffee were available in the room and although there is currently not a fridge in situ Jo was very mindful to ensure we always had fresh milk. Tickets for Skomer are in short supply and are issued on a first come first served basis so what a wonderful bonus that the tickets are collected by some kind person whilst we sat and enjoyed a most delicious and filling breakfast. A plentiful packed lunch is also available for days out as is an evening hamper for those who prefer to stay in. This B&B is truly amazing and although remote is just the most relaxing and peaceful place to stay. We would have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone and we really hope to return for a longer stay sometime in the future. Thank you Jo for everything especially the loan of the sun hat and sunscreen which were much appreciated.”

Tina Ametrano, London (Q-Book)

June 2017

“Hard to Find, Harder to Leave – Unless your GPS is more accurate than the three we triangulated with, you’ll get several tours of St Ishmaels and vicinity before you find this hidden haven. Perseverance definitely pays, because Monk Haven is as beautiful as any B&B you will ever find. A manor house, a series of stone cottages, a converted apple storehouse, a stream and even a small church sit in grounds so picturesque you’ll think your in a movie. Our only complaint is that we didn’t book for all four nights we were in Pembrokeshire. Jo is a very welcoming hostess full of enthusiasm, local knowledge and cooking talent. She’ll even collect your tickets for Skomer Island so that you are guaranteed a boat at a time most convenient to you.”

Thomas Wells, Chistlehurst (Trip Advisor)
June 2017

“Great Stay – We stopped here for 3 nights in may and it was fantastic. We stopped in the apple store which is a great place to stay and is separate from the other accommodation which makes it very peaceful, and of course the hot tub just outside is a great bonus, which we used after a couple of walks while we were there to relax in. Jo is a very friendly and helpful host with lots of tips about the local area. The breakfast was delicious as were the homemade jam & marmalade. A 5 minute walk down a path along side of the house brings you to a small cove and you are on the coastal path with great walks nearby which they can give you maps for ( they are on their website to print off ahead of time). All in all a beautiful and peaceful place to stay and we would not hesitate to come back!”

Neil Humphries, Tewkesbury (Trip Advisor)
June 2017

“Just Excellent!! – My daughter and I stayed in the Apple Store at Monks Haven for three nights. We wanted to stay in the area to visit Skomer Island to see the puffins.One of the attractions to stay here was that the proprietors collected the boat tickets while we were having breakfast!! However, while we chose it with this in mind we were delighted by everything about our accommodation, the attention to detail and friendliness of the owners. I couldn’t rate this more highly.”

Madryn Abnett, Colchester (Trip Advisor)

May 2017

“In the middle of nowhere and you are not lost! – Upon arriving at Monk Haven Manor, you know immediately that you are where you belong. The property is like heaven on earth, with the village church abutting the property to confirm that heaven is very near… The room we had was absolutely wonderful and Jo was AMAZING! The breakfast was beyond words and Jan’s vegetarian sausage option is a vegetarians delight. We also bought the lunch from them to go to Skomer Island for the day, and that too was wonderful. There is no better place to stay in our opinion to visit Skomer Island. The time we spent there was magical and I highly recommend Monk Haven Manor if you truly want to enjoy the finest in hospitality and the Pembrokeshire culture and Skomer Island, which is a must in itself. I cannot say enough about the graciousness and value offered at this bed and breakfast and how very grateful we are to have been able to stay there.”

Linda Baker, Rhode Island, USA (Trip Advisor)
May 2017

“Amazing Stay – We had the most amazing stay here in the Apple Store, the accommodation is lovely. The hot tub was a very welcome treat after our fantastic trip to see the puffins on Skomer Island! There are nice pubs a short drive away but providing kitchen equipment and a hob really helped as one night we just stayed in, cooked and enjoyed the peace and quiet. Jo was tremendous and made us feel so welcome and gave great tips on the local area. I can’t fault this place for a beautiful restful retreat. The homemade jams were also extremely good!!”

Lucy Abnett, London (trip Advisor)
May 2017

“The perfect Apple Store – Perfect location-5 minutes walk from the coastal path. Beautiful gardens complete with badgers. A really warm welcome from Jo, Jan and Alex. The Apple Store stay was a perfect 50th birthday present treat:- peace & quiet, wood burning stove, private hot tub and oh, such a comfy bed. Lovely breakfast in the Manor House and such marvellous attention to detail.”

Michell and Allan, London (Trip Advisor)

May 2017

‘A Very Special Hideaway’ My husband spent much of his childhood holidays in the neighbouring village of St Ishmaels and Monkhaven was always a favourite place to visit.We received a warm welcome from Jo on our arrival and during our short stay nothing was too much trouble for her to ensure our enjoyment. Breakfast was divine with so many delicious choices on the menu. Our room was warm and comfortable with everything we needed for our short stay.There are beautiful walk through a wooded valley and so many places to visit (if you can bear to leave this peaceful setting) Thank you so much for your hospitality Jo, we are so looking forward to a return visit xxx

Mr and Mrs Woofit, Chester (Q-book)
23.4.17

‘Sheer Delight’ A sheer delight from welcome to departure. Nothing was too much trouble. Really made to feel at home and done with such fun and good humour. Delightful room with good quality furnishings. Excellent breakfast. Interesting and well put together hamper ready on arrival. Staying here is highly recommended.”

Tony Lewington, Martley (Q-book)

23.4.17

 

‘Perfect ‘ From the time of booking until we left everything was perfect. Jo looked after us amazingly and nothing was too much trouble. Her advice on places to visit were very much appreciated. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were lovely. The only thing wrong was we had to leave ! But we would definitely book again Thank you”

Jenny Adams, (Q-book)
10.4.17

‘Great welcome and peaceful location ‘ We stayed here whilst walking the coast path. Jo made us extremely welcome and the rooms are modern cosy and very clean. We were even given a lift to the pub as we were on foot and whilst there we were told loads about the area and Jo\’s childhood there. I enjoyed a quiet ready whilst early spring sunshine brought the garden to life with birdsong. This would be a great place to unwind after a busy or stressful time.”

Nicky Wood, (Q-book)
26.3.17

“Not a bad word to say about this place – This whole place is beautiful. I was so pleased when we arrived and we saw what it was like…. You enter down a country road and turn in to the property, driving down over a stream between the main house on one side and a little church on the other. There is a decent sized car park for visitors. We got shown our room which is just that – on the end of a row of other rooms, they are their own building so we had french doors straight in to the bedroom and a shower room en-suite. The facilities were very classy and it was all very clean and well kept. The bed was so comfortable and I slept through the night. The main house where you have breakfast in the morning is lovely, as was the breakfast itself! There were lots of options. The Manor sell their own jam and honey which we bought some of – it’s always nice to bring a little homemade item like that back after a trip! The host we spoke to was lovely and quite interested in our plans for the day. The property has it’s own little private beach/cove and there is woodland and a long coastal walk you can take for some far reaching views along the top of some cliffs! I would love love love to stay at this place again and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it! Very pleased with our choice.”

Krissy, Rochester (Trip Advisor)

21.3.17

“Brilliant – A last minute booking that resulted in a brilliant experience. Our standard room was beautifully dressed and immaculately clean with lots of thought eg fresh milk in fridge, bathrobes, local info and outside seating on our little terrace. The breakfast choice was all delicious, cooked and presented to a very high standard. Friendly and engaged owners. Being in the vicinity of the old church and the five minute stroll to the local cove adds to the sense of retreat. A real find, would not hesitate to return and recommend to friends.”

Sally Nash, Wolverhampton (Trip Advisor)

15.3.17

“Best Valentines’ Retreat – Have just got back from staying at Monk haven manor with my boyfriend for two nights to celebrate our first Valentine’s Day and it’s safe to say it did not disappoint. We stayed in the Apple Store cottage which was so quaint and cosy. We had a fire burning, his and hers robes and a hot tub nestled under the stars, what more could we possibly want! Breakfast was provided also which was simply delicious! Such a perfect mini break- did not want to leave and most definitely will return!”

Natassja Morgan, Pembrokeshire (Trip Advisor)

15.2.17

‘Excellent B&B in lovely position – We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Monk Haven Manor. We were greeted by friendly faces who were more than helpful during our visit. The room we booked was comfortable and kept spotlessly clean, not always easy when guests have often been walking in Welsh weather! Jo was very helpful with suggestions for places to visit including where to eat out. Breakfasts were a treat too. Would definitely recommend to others. Many thanks.”

Mr ans Mrs Buttery, (Q-book)

12.10.16

“Idyllic Haven – Stayed in the Apple store for one night at this beautiful, peaceful location. Accommodation was cosy, spotlessly clean and tranquil. Lovely owner and delicious breakfast. The home made bread is first class. Will be coming back.”

Lee Evans - Bridgend (Trip Advisor)

4.2.17

 

“A one night stay in comfort – The young lady looking after our stay was great. She made us welcome and organised a trip to the pub for dinner to which she drove us. We were circa 100 miles in 6 day of the Pembrokershire coastal path. The accommodation was modern, clean and welcoming. Breakfast was first class. The owners put themselves out for us walkers. Great place, great people and so helpful, when your feet are sore, to have a lift to the pub. Thank you, from Dom and Phil

Phil and Dom, Monmouthshire (Q-book)

1.10.16

“Simply the best! – An excellent stay. Everything was superb, especially the breakfasts which are peerless (make sure that you try all the alternatives – they are equally good). The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. We have travelled widely around the UK and it is difficult to remember a better experience than Monk Haven. Thanks to all involved (and lots of strokes to Molly).”

Mr and Mrs Pollard, Alnwick (Q-book)

2.10.16

“Amazing Weekend – Stayed in the Apple Store 23-24/09/16. The room was clean and tidy, the staff couldn’t do enough to help and the hot tub was brilliant! Very private corner of the garden, with their own beach only a 2 minute walk away. 10 out of 10! Will definitely come again! P.S The breakfast is a must for anyone staying at Monk Haven!”

Andy Wood, Swansea (Q-book)

26.9.16

“Absolutely beautiful B&B in a stunning part of the world – Breakfast was always delicious, the room was lovely and comfortable. Jo and Jan were always happy to get anything else, such as a cafetiere and fresh coffee, for the room and offered plenty of advice on what to do during the day.”

Laura Bevan (Q-book)

4.9.16

“Monk Haven Magic – A dream break. Gorgeous facilities. We stayed in the Apple Store with use of the hottub which was lovely and private. Breakfast in the main house was excellent. We will definitely return.”

Victoria James, Haverfordwest (Q-book)

21.9.16

Beautiful place even when the weather is dreadful – We recently stayed in the Caradog room at Monk Haven Manor and what a relaxed peaceful stay we had. The setting is wonderful even when the weather was awful. The breakfast is fantastic they even accommodated my requests that weren’t on the menu. Jo and the lovely lady of the manor are so welcoming and friendly. We will def be back, with our dog next time as well.”

Trip Advisor Member

3.9.2016

 

“So peaceful and pretty – This is a very overdue review from my stay in May 2016. I wanted a place to stay that was a good location to be based for a visit to Skomer Island and what initially attracted me to Monk Haven Manor was their service of queuing and collecting Skomer Island tickets while the guests enjoy a leisurely breakfast. Monk Haven Manor is in a very quiet location about a 10 minute walk from the village of St Ishmaels. The guest accommodation is in a separate building from the main Manor House. Our room was perfect: clean, bright, well decorated and robes and coffee/tea supplied. Breakfast (using local ingredients and homemade bread) is served in a pretty breakfast room in the Manor House. Breakfast is always one of my favourite meals when staying away from home and it didn’t disappoint….. Deli baskets can be purchased for evening meals, but we ate at nearby The Griffin Inn (Dale: about a 15 minute drive) and The Brook Inn (St Ishmeals: about a 15 minute walk). We made use of the Skomer Island ticket collection service. We handed in our landing fee and required time of boat (details are found in the room) by 8pm the night before with our breakfast choice and after breakfast the next morning our tickets were bought to our room. All we had to do was drive the 20 minutes to Martin’s Haven in time for the 10.30am launch. This saved us having to queue at the Lockley Lodge visitors centre from about 7.30am. A brilliant service 🙂 We also purchased a packed lunch for our Skomer trip. Again, the order is placed in the evening before. I can thoroughly recommend Monk Haven Manor if you are looking for peaceful and scenic.”

Mrs Palmer, Devon (Trip Advisor)

11.9.16

“Utterly delightful! -I was looking for a B&B near Skomer and I picked Monk Haven Manor mostly due to their offer of picking up your Skomer tickets while you have a leisurely breakfast! I’m so glad I did pick it, because our whole stay was great. We stayed in Gofan – it had a very comfortable king size bed at one end of the room and a large sofa at the other end of the room, almost making a separate lounge area which was nice and unexpected from the room photo. The ensuite shower room is very airy with a skylight and a large walk in shower with oodles of hot water. There were nice touches in the room – fresh milk (not UHT) for tea, a TV on a swivel so you could watch either from the bed end or the sofa end, and even umbrellas for walking down to breakfast (not Wet Wales for nothing alas). Speaking of breakfast – fantastic. I fell in love with the smoked fish and potato cake, lovely fresh local eggs too, great homemade jams especially the whisky marmalade! We took advantage of the Skomer ticket pickup and also the packed lunch option. The lunch was tasty and freshly made (you order it the night before). (They also do evening hampers – although we didn’t have one, other guests staying at the same time did and said how nice they were). It was great having the tickets collected for us, our boat was the 10.00, we were parking at 9.35 ish, and people arriving then were having to wait for the 11.00 boat. Monk Haven is tucked away down a little lane in the middle of nowhere and was beautifully quiet and peaceful. We had a lovely evening stroll down to the beach and up onto the cliff path. There are a number of places within a shortish drive to eat in the evening. I’d recommend it to anyone.”

Jenny Spence, Hampshire (Trip Advisor)

July 2016

“A really exceptional Haven indeed! -Monk Haven Manor is a place of great tranquillity. Although set in a quiet valley near St Ishmael’s it is not difficult to find or reach – and indeed is very much worth the journey. It is set in a truly delightful situation in a wooded valley just above the small bay of Monk Haven and next to the small church. The situation is ideal for exploring the coast path which is literally minutes away. On arrival we were greeted with an extremely friendly welcome and shown personally to our room. The rooms are set aside from the main house in a separate terraced row. They were spotlessly clean and very comfortable, and our room had a living room area which opened onto a patio with double doors. Chairs and a picnic bench are sited close to the rooms to allow one to sit outside in the fresh air. The breakfasts were delicious, with fresh eggs, homemade bread and preserves. Likewise the packed lunch freshly made sandwiches were very good. On one night we ordered the Monk Haven hamper for supper (enjoyed in our room owing to the weather, although could equally be enjoyed on the patio or garden area) which was very generous and exceedingly tasty – we can recommend it! For dining on the other nights, if you do not wish to drive, there is a pub – some 10 – 15 minutes walk – in the village. Jo and Jan were exceptionally welcoming hosts and obviously enjoy making their guests as comfortable as possible. We both really enjoyed our short stay and are determined to return in the future. We can thoroughly recommend Monk Haven Manor as a truly exceptional retreat. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay.”

Dr David Barman, Sale (Q-Book)

July 2016

“Beautiful B&B – We stayed at Monk Haven Manor during a weekend break. This B&B is lovely, we loved the privacy of the rooms and the secluded location. The rooms are bright airy comfortable and clean. Robes, slippers and fluffy towels add a touch luxury to this hybrid accommodation. Breakfast is served in the main house, which is set in stunning gardens. Quality over quantity is the order of the day, that said, we left each morning full for the day ahead. The smoked salmon fish cakes were a delight! Overall, a gorgeous B&B which we would definitely recommend!”

Joel Hounsome, Ludlow (Q-book)

August 2016

“The best Bed and Breakfast in Pembrokeshire – Monk Haven Manor is a hidden jewel of the Pembrokeshire countryside. Their location is picture perfect down to every last detail in your room to their outstanding breakfast service. You will not find a better stay or more lovely hosts, we will be back with friends at our side. I cannot recommend them enough — absolutely stunning location and lodgings.”

Nomi Shandler, London (Q-book)

August 2016

“Delightful location and service – My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Monk Haven Manor. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfasts met our dietary needs, and the location was restful and conducive to walking along the coast. Only disadvantage: it spoiled us–later facilities did not measure up.”

Malcolm Russel, Lincoln (Q-book)

August 2016

“Welsh holiday -Monk Haven was a little piece of paradise and we were sorry to only stay one night. Our labrador, Sir Bradley Wiggins, had a fantastic time as did we. Breakfast wonderful and accommodation first class. See you next time!”

Louise Goolnik, Pershore (Q-book)

August 2016

“Brilliant! – Beautiful place and the owners couldn’t do enough to help us, not to mention the fact that they will go and get your tickets for the boat over to Skomer at no extra charge while you have a leisurely breakfast. Brilliant!! I would definitely recommend staying here.”

Kate Harris, Torquay (Q-book)

August 2016

“Delightful – We are so pleased to discover Monk Haven Manor. The setting, down in a forested valley, next to a lovely small church, 10 minutes walk from the sea, makes this a secluded getaway. Comfy beds,yummy breakfast and a warm welcome are the icing on the cake.”

Arla Gamper, Bristol (Q-book)

August 2016

“Haven of peace – Spent three nights in this beautifully situated bijou bed and breakfast. There are different sized apartments available – we stayed in the smallest. Ideal if you want the perfect base for exploring the area but a little cramped if you plan to spend a lot of time there. The hosts were wonderful and couldn’t have been more helpful and the breakfast was one of the best I have eaten. Each apartment had a small patio area where you could sit and drink wine or partake of an evening hamper also provided by the hosts. The cost was £35 for a hamper for two but was generously filled. The surroundings were perfect peace so it was the ideal place to de-stress. From a location perspective, Monk Haven was ideal for exploring the extreme south-west corner of Wales and ideally situated for a boat trip to Skomer Island; the hosts would even arrange the tickets to save queueing. It is an easy place to find with satellite navigation and there is ample parking. I would highly recommend it for two people needing a peaceful break.”

Paul Adkins, Malvern (Trip Advisor)

July 2016

“Monk Haven Manor – We had a lovely long weekend with a beautiful room and splendid breakfasts. And Monk Haven Manor is a wonderful base for exploring the coast and islands of Pembrokeshire.”

Dr Andrew Todd, Chepstow (Q-book)

August 2016

“Blissfully beautiful – Monk Haven Manor is located at the end of a winding, narrow country road, making it a perfectly peaceful ‘haven’ indeed. We stayed in one of the rooms in the main house, and it was spacious, airy with high ceilings, gorgeous furnishings, comfy bed, spotlessly clean and very modern, stylish bathroom… Superb. We walked down to the little beach close to the property, and spent a lovely 45 minutes or so collecting an abundance of seaglass ~ one of my fascinations! The next morning, after a great night’s sleep, breakfast was beautifully cooked and served and we only wished we could have had another night here. Highly recommended.”

Sue Adkins, Norfolk (Trip Advisor)

July 2016

“Fantastic stay – Lovely stay at monk haven manor, a super gluten free breakfast which was a huge plus for me being a coeliac even gluten free sausages and toast . A beautiful location, lovely comfy rooms with luxury bathrobes and slippers a really nice touch . Even an umbrella supplied for rainy days. Great service supplied for going to Skomer island.”

Emma Hall, Haverfordwest (Trip Advisor)

July 2016

“Amazing stay as always – I had a fantastic stay yet again at Monk Haven. I had to change my arrival time which with a quick phone call was sorted with no issues. The room is lovely – a plush robe and slippers are provided, the bed is comfortable, linens soft and the wet room feels luxurious with a large rainfall shower head. As I needed to leave for Skomer island early in the morning, Jo made me breakfast before the normal breakfast time. They will even go down and buy Skomer boat tickets for you so you don\’t have to wait in the queue. I will definitely be visiting again.”

Dr Rebecca Dabbs, Oxford (Q-book)

July 2016

“Stunning – Have just spent a week at Monk Haven and what a joy. The moment we arrived we were welcomed by Jo and shown to our little hideaway that is the Apple Store which had the bonus of a hot tub. Spotlessly clean and so comfortable with a 3 seater sofa, an armchair, kitchenette with microwave, toaster and kettle, a fridge (with milk) and a log burner! Up the wooden stairs to the bedroom area and the biggest bed I’ve ever slept in-huge. Dressing gown, slippers and a rocking chair too. Breakfast was in the main house and it was delicious. Cereal, fruit, yogurt, orange juice and a choice of cooked breakfast, personal favourite being Jan’s Glamorgan sausage with poached egg and not forgetting the homemade bread washing all down with fresh coffee. The location was ideal for walking, Skomer and St.David’s.”

Sian Amies, England (Trip Advisor)

July 2016

“Faultless -Thank you to the whole team at Monk Haven for a wonderful stay. The accommodation, service and breakfasts were all top-notch and we will definitely be recommending you to our friends and family.”

Rhodri Lovett, Bristol (Q-Book)

July 2016

“Excellent B&B -Great B&B in lovely area. Hosts were very friendly (as was the dog) and helpful,they let me use landline to book a taxi and when I mentioned we were going to The Griffin for a meal the host phoned and booked a table for us. Little things like a robe, slippers and fresh milk for the tea and coffee in the room were an added bonus. It was a lovely evening when we were there and it was a shame we hadn’t realised that they did an evening picnic basket or we would have pre ordered this and stayed in the grounds to enjoy the surroundings. Would go back.”

Karen Feerick, Dudley (Q-Book)

July 2016

“Lovely weekend break -I found Monk Haven when I was looking for somewhere to stay for our visit to Skomer and it could not have been more perfect. Stunning setting, beautiful room and delicious breakfast. They were very welcoming and it was a special treat having Alex go down and pick up our Skomer tickets so that we could enjoy our breakfast. I will definitely be recommending Monk Haven :)”

Lorraine Bunce, Wimborne (Q-Book)

July 2016

“Want to come back -We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 days with you. Our room was very comfortable, breakfast was amazing, location picturesque and quiet,and the welcome from Jo very warm & friendly. Nothing was a trouble & we loved the place even though we didn’t get to Skomer Island…..but we did see the Puffins we had travelled from Australia to see.”

Geoff Abbot, Victoria, Australia (Q-book)

June 2016

“What a gem -Had a fabulous 2 night stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. What an absolute gem of a place, so tranquil with exceptional hosts. The room was spotlessly clean, bed comfy with a lovely power shower. We would like to thank Alex who got up very early on Saturday morning to queue for our tickets to Skomer Island – we had an amazing day. Breakfast was scrumptious one of the best I’ve eaten and set us up for the day. We sat outside Saturday evening with a cheeky vino in beautiful sunshine with only the sound of birds to keep us company. So glad we found this beautiful place and hope to return in the not too distant future.”

Jacqui Phillips, Oakdale (Trip Advisor)

June 2016

“Warm welcome in a peaceful location -We spent 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Jo and Jan were very welcoming. We stayed in the Ysfael. As the website states, this is the smallest of the accomodation choices but adequate for a short stay. The room is finished to a high standard. Larger rooms are available if required. The breakfasts were lovely, with home-made preserves and mostly local produce. The Manor is located in its own grounds at the end of a small road ensuring a peaceful stay. There is easy access to the coastal path, with great walks and stunning views. Assistance in buying tickets for a visit to Skomer was a great bonus for us.”

Hugh and Sue, United Kingdom (Trip Advisor)

June 2016

“Monk Haven -Sorry, totally forgot to write in the visitors’ book before we left! We loved Monk Haven and will certainly recommend it highly to our friends. Such a tranquil and secluded location and superbly appointed and comfortable rooms. Thanks so much, Jo, for sparing no effort in creating your wonderful vegan sausages. I’m sure Cauldron Foods, Linda McCartney’s and others would like to get their hands on your recipe! It was so kind of you to sort out our Skomer tickets while we relaxed and enjoyed your splendid breakfast. We’d love to stay with you again some time.”

Tony and Louise Barby, Swindon (Q-Book)

June 2016

“Super rooms in a beautiful spot -Really lovely modern rooms with a comfy bed and super shower. Tucked away in a gorgeous spot – felt really rural. Jo was welcoming and very accommodating with a super breakfast. Would happily revisit.”

Caroline Worley, Liphook (Q-book)

June 2016

“What a find! -A beautiful spot, quiet, tucked-away and peaceful. Lovely accommodation, spotlessly clean and very nicely designed and decorated. Breakfast was first-class with a lot of local produce. Service was attentive and friendly. Highly recommended. P.S Don’t miss the little local beach a few minutes walk away!”

John Applin, Andover (Q-book)

May 2016

“An oasis of calm and tranquility -I stayed for 3 nights as I was visiting nearby Skomer Island to see the puffins. Joanne and Alex made me feel so welcome and looked after me so well, I was sorry to leave. The accommodation is of a high standard, the breakfast room very comfortable with views to the garden and patio, breakfast is top notch with home made bread, jams, and delicious veggie glamorgan sausage. They kindly made me a packed lunch each day which was very convenient and transported me to Martin’s Haven for the ferry as I was without a car. I was able to walk up the lane (less than 10 minutes) for dinner at the nearby Brook Inn in St Ishmael’s. The Monk Haven area is incredibly picturesque, with a 9th century church nearby, a stream running through the garden, a secret beach within 5 minutes walk and a cliff top walk towards Dale. They are doing everything right and I would love to return some time. Highly recommended.”

Annmarie, London (Trip Advisor)

May 2016

“Get away from it all! -We spent 2 nights in ‘The Applestore’, what can I say , a fantastic breakaway !!!. The cottage is well equipped, comfortable and has everything needed for your stay including a hot tub and wood burner for chilly evenings. Its so peaceful set in Monk Haven gardens, Jan & Jo are so welcoming and nothing is to much trouble. A definite highlight is the fantastic breakfast, I can honestly say one of the best I have ever tasted !!!!! and the homemade preserves are delicious. I would not hesitate in recommending staying here, perfect for a romantic break or a couple of days away, I will definitely be going back !!!!”

Sue and Dewi Roberts, Pencoed (Trip Advisor)

May 2016

“A fabulous few days – We loved our room and the peace and quiet of Monk Haven Manor. Breakfast was made with the best ingredients (loved the homemade bread). The service of queuing for and collecting our Skomer tickets was fantastic. I have already recommended Monk Haven Manor.”

Rachel Palmer, Exeter (Q-Book)

May 2016

“An absolute treasure -Set in a tranquil location – a veritable oasis of calm. Jo and Jan welcomed us warmly and nothing was too much trouble throughout our all too brief three night stay. Our room was very cosy – nothing idiosyncratic at all and the bed was one of the most comfortable we had ever slept in. Breakfasts are sensational – indeed everything that Jan cooks or creates – be it cake, bread, preserves or Glamorgan sausages is to die for – I am waiting for the Monk Haven Manor cook book to hit the shelves!!! We will certainly return.”

Steve Duckett, Leeds (Trip Advisor)

May 2016

‘A place to remember’ – Beautiful setting, an enchanted and enchanting forest in the neighbourhood, a warm and welcoming atmosphere… The perfect place for a visit to Skomer Island. We shall come back again.”

Pierette and Sophie, Switzerland (Q-book)

May 2016

“Perfect in every way -Everything about Monk Haven is absolutely wonderful. The Manor house, guest accommodation and location is perfect. Plus Jo and Alex are fantastic hosts – nothing is too much trouble for them. They really do make you feel very welcome and the breakfast is scrummy – home-made bread and Glamorgan sausages amongst other goodies. The rooms are immaculate – beautifully styled, comfortable and scrupulously clean. I will certainly be back and explore more of the immediate area as it is stunning. A 10/15 minute walk to a pub and also a 10 minute drive to the Skomer boat pick up point. loved the peace and tranquillity. Thank you!”

Jill Poyser, England (Trip Advisor)

May 2016

“Great base for Skomer – Very helpful, lovely breakfast and tickets for Skomer collected for you. Cottage very well equipped with separate living area and terrace outside with resident shrew!”

Janet Beaumore, England

May 2016

“Ideal to find peace -Unfortunately, we could spend just one night in this idyllic B&B. But we’ll come back. The situation is wonderful. If you walk ten minutes, you´ll find a small rock beach. The peace is everywhere around this B&B. The rooms are warm, cosy, very clean. The breakfast has a high quality, with homemade and local products. The staff is very helpful. It’s worthy to spend a few days in the area staying at Monk Haven Manor.”

Daniel Brun, Bristol (Trip Advisor)

Stayed Sept 2015

‘Great Welsh hospitality – Monk haven manor is a very special place. Set in a magical valley in beautiful grounds. The hosts were friendly and efficient, breakfast was delicious and the rooms finished to a hug standard. We will definitely be back.”

Dr Karen Hegarty, Woverly (Q-book)

May 2016

‘Great stay – Beautiful setting with gardens leading to the coastal path. Very friendly and accommodating family run business. Good breakfast provided each morning. Overall a great experience – we will go there again!”

Melanie Cumper, England (Q-book)

May 2016

‘Lucky to have Chosen Monk Haven – We booked at the last minute and felt very lucky to have found a room free at Monk Haven. It is a beautiful place with a special atmosphere. The room was lovely, the breakfast delicious and we were looked after extremely well, including getting our landing ticket for Skomer for us. Thank you very much for a lovely stay.”

Sara Mansfield, London (Q-book)

May 2016

‘Refreshed and reinvigorated! – The peaceful and secluded oasis of Monk Haven is a welcome sight after walking the dramatic beautiful Pembrokeshire coastline. To wake up to birdsong without a hint of urbanisation is magical. The proximity to Stomer is an added bonus. Puffins are just mesmerising!”

Mellissa Hipkins, Bristol (Q-book)

May 2016

‘Short stay – Thank you to the great team at Monkhaven for making my stay again a very enjoyable experience. No words can do you justice, other than to say, it\’s heaven!! Go check it out for yourself. Cannot recommend it high enough.”

Graham Whittington, West Sussex (Q-book)

April 2016

‘An even warmer welcome!’ This was our second time of staying at Monk Haven Manor and we look forward to going back again …… And again! This is a wonderful place to stay if you want to visit the islands of Skomer or Ramsey and catching up with the very diverse wildlife of the area. Jan and Jo are full of excellent local knowledge and good ideas for places to visit, Stackpole was one day that we particularly enjoyed. We love The Apple Store, it is a very comfortable, luxurious place to stay and coupled with the excellent breakfasts and warm, Welsh hospitality, makes for a great holiday. Very sincere thanks to Jo, Jan and the team – we look forward to seeing you again soon.”

Kevin and Andy, Yorkshire (Q-book)

March 2016

“Stunning – Must visit – I recently stayed at the Apple Store with my partner as a last minute escape. We live local but felt so detached from everything it was wonderful. We drove down the country lane to be greeted by a Victorian looking building set in beautiful grounds with a small stream and snow drops covering the ground. Peaceful with the sound of owls and other wild animals. It was like a postcard. We were greeted, shown where breakfast was and then taken down to the Apple Store. A wonderful little cottage full of character. With its own hot tub, log burner, cooking facilities including oven. Then a lovely comfortable bed perched in the rafters. For me it was the attention to detail, milk in the fridge, DVDs to watch, tea lights which added the romantic touch, logs and fire lighters ready to go. Even robes, shower gel etc. I wasn’t expecting any of these things. But for us the hot tub stole the show. We relaxed with music under the stars in the hot tub. The next morning we had breakfast which was delicious, with home made jams, breads and more. The whole experience was faultless and the hosts were excellent. I can’t wait to return in the summer. Thank you for a lovely break.”

Scott Thomas, Pembrokeshire (Trip Advisor)

March 2016

“March 2016 3 day break – Wow, what a hidden gem, beautiful rooms that are separate from the main house giving you privacy you don’t get in the average B&B, and this is no average B&B. This is great for walking, cycling or just relaxing. It’s an amazing setting down in a dip with its own little church. The breakfast is fantastic and the welcome is warm and friendly. No pictures do this place justice and I imagine it will only improve as the weather warms and the flowers come out. We will return and highly recommend it.”

Kevin Bagnell, Cheshire (Q-Book)

17.03.16

“Weekend stay at Monk Haven -We had a fabulous 3 night stay at Monk Haven Manor. Rooms are furnished to a very high standard and the breakfast is stunning. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners. Beautiful location, very relaxing and we will be back in the summer.”

Susan Bowen, Pontypridd (Q-book review)

1.3.16

“Beautiful -I enjoyed my 1 night stay in the apple store! Was a beautiful place with beautiful surroundings!! And the best bit was the hot tub!! My partner proposed to me! So will always be a special place for us!! Will defiantly be going again!! Breakfast was lovely with homemade bread and my partner enjoyed the the homemade jams!! Overall it was a beautiful place with great people:) “

Leah (Trip Advisor)

Feb 2016

“Peaceful and friendly escape -what a lovely stay in the the apple store this weekend. The hot tub was a real treat on a cold winter night and we were snug and warm in the beautiful cottage. Dinner and breakfast were very tasty and we were welcomed like old friends. Fantastic coastal walks and beaches are accessible from the manor too. A very special place…thank you”

Sian Mitchell, Swansea (Q-book review)

18.1.16

“Welcome haven just off Pembrokeshire coast path -I was walking the Pembrokeshire coast path in January and fortunately Monk Haven was open for B&B at this time of year. Arriving wet, muddy and in the dark from the path to the sea I had a trouble finding the entrance (I was knocking on the back door it appears) but once inside I had a warm welcome. The pub was closed so I was given a very good veggy chilli (with natural yoghurt giving a lovely hot/cold sensation). Breakfast was super with home made bread. I was also helped in calling my wife, cell phone coverage is not so good (but they did have wifi). The room was recently decorated and the floor was sensibly tiled (I have a horror of oatmeal carpets when I arrive wet and dripping mud). A great place to stay.”

John Pucknell, England (Q-book review)

13.1.16

“Simply charming! -Wonderful, peaceful location. Great setting in really beautiful countryside. Quality warm, clean rooms & excellent bedding. The breakfast, served in the Manor House, was very good, especially the home made whisky marmalade!…”

See full review

"MiltonsBristol" (Trip Advisor)

22.11.15

“Perfect Autumn Romantic get-away -We stayed in the old Apple Store; a cosy little property at the bottom of the main house garden. Outside is a hot tub and inside is a very nicely decorated white washed living room with log burner, shower room and small kitchen area. Stairs lead you up to a gorgeous and comfortable double bed in the roof space as a mezzanine. Breakfast was served in the main house and was very very nice indeed. The hosts are fantastic and nothing seems too much for them to do…”

Barry and Cerys, Abercarn (Trip Advisor)

17.11.15

“The Apple Store at Monk Haven – heaven on earth! -Couldn’t be a nicer, more relaxing place to stay than the Apple Store ….in this dreamy corner of Wales. We stayed two nights on a last minute booking and moved to another unit for our last night. Super cozy and comfortable, good breakfasts (loved the homemade breads and jams–Whiskey Marmalade was a new treat!), lovely wood fire the staff would help get going, loft bed, comfortable couch and chairs, tiny kitchen for quick meals–and, oh, that wonderful hot tub under the stars! We stayed in Caradog one night, also up to a high standard with a separate sitting room–everything brand new. Gardens beautiful even at end of October and it seems the owners are always adding new gardens, rooms and features. Attended the ancient church on the site on Sunday to a warm welcome and lovely, small service. Great place all around, with wonderful walks at your doorstep. Highly recommend.”

The Marcouxs, Connecticut (Trip Advisor) 5.11.15

“What a fab find!! Excellent hostess, gorgeous food. We had a brilliant stay in the Apple Store, Thank you!! We will def be back X “

Pat and Keith Thomas, Neath (Guests' book)

13.11.15

“Beautiful setting, lovely facilities. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Really enjoyed our stay, albeit a short one.”

Vanessa and Jon, Birmingham (Visitors book)

13.11.15

“Great find, lovely hostess Jo really looked after us. Loved the peace and tranquility and star gazing in the hot tub! Thank you!”

Jo and Lee Gerrard, Cardiff (Guests' book)

8.11.15

I had a lovely overnight stay at Monk Haven. I had a double room with patio, and it was beautiful and of a very high standard. Jo’s breakfast was fabulous, and both Jan and Jo were very welcoming. I really enjoyed my stay, and definitely want to visit again with my husband, rather than just as part of a business trip. The location is idyllic.”

Vicky Jones, UK (Q-book)

6.11.15

“Our one year anniversary. Wonderful time – thank you!”

Jonathan, Katy and Jackson the crazy poodle! Wales (Guests' book)

5.11.15

“20+ degrees, coastal path, wooded walks, peace and quiet, hot tub, brilliant food, PERFECT!!!”

Cliff and Debbie and dogs, Kent (Guests' book)

2.11.15

“Thank you for a lovely stay and great company. Breakfast, especially homemade jams, was delicious. We’ll be back”

Peter and Alice, Herefordshire (Guests' book)

1.11.15

“This will be one of my top 5 top places in the world. Have never felt so welcome and pampered!”

Joe and Sue, USA (guests' book)

26.10.15

‘A short break in Pembrokeshire – A very pleasant experience, a beautiful cottage in an idilic ĺocation, excellent breakfast and a warm welcome from our hosts. Appreciated their taxi service to enable us to continue our walk on the Wales Coastal Path”

Lloyd Jones, Llanelwy (Q-book)

25.10.15

“A big thank you to Jan and Jo for making us and our 2 dogs feel so welcome. We had a wonderful 2 days walking and lots of eating out. Accommodation excellent, will try the hot tub next time!! Breakfast delicious and thanks to Jan for picking us up when our dog refused to go any further (old dog!). Will recommend to family and friends and look forward to returning soon. 🙂 X”

Maria and Martin, Oldham (Guests' book)

11.10.15

“Thank you for such an amazing holiday. This place is so amazing! So much so Graham decided to propose! Very happy people leaving rested and recuperated!”

Kate and Graham, London (Guests book)

13.9.15

“Here for a wedding – can’t believe we found this superb B&B!! Fantastic- everything we needed and “customer care” was out standing!! Superb breakfast along with perfect ensuite!”

Eleanor and Ivor, Gower (Guests' book)

15.9.15

‘Best B&B – Beautiful peaceful place to stay with lovely staff and owners caring for your every need. We only had one night though my husband and his son had stayed there previously so knew it was good. However I was knocked out by the loveliness of it all. We visited the little church opposite which was also delightful. Breakfast next morning set us up for the day – a Welsh breakfast tone very proud of – fresh local ingredients produced a superlative cooked breakfast, home made bread topped by home made jam and marmalade served in a beautiful room. Thanks to the owners as well as the friendly helpful staff! All topped by wall to wall sunshine – who needs abroad!’

Sinead P, Crediton (Trip Advisor)

August 2015

‘Fantastic location for Skomer and wonderful atmosphere -I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of June/ beginning of July this year. The whole staff make sure you are very welcome and settled in as soon as you arrive. They are a wealth of knowledge and suggested some local places to visit which I may have missed without their help. I stayed in the Teilo room, which is one of the new conversions with a comfy double bed and nicely outfitted wet room en-suite. Having breakfast in the main house was a treat, it is all freshly made to order and the surroundings beautiful. I took one of their packed lunches to Skomer and it was lovely, a choice of sandwich on freshly baked bread, homemade cake, fruit, water and a treat. They will even go and get a landing ticket for you. The accommodation itself is nestled in a peaceful glen, with lovely gardens and a short walk down to a secluded cove. I liked it so much that I am planning to go back soon’

Rebecca Dabbs, Oxfordshire and Wollongong Australia! (Trip Advisor)

Reviewed August 2015

‘A hidden gem – Exceptional quality, tucked away in a beautiful location. Hosting was top notch, extremely welcoming and helpful, the breakfast was the best I’ve ever had (and all locally sourced). Surrounded by stunning scenery, it could only have been topped if The Apple Store room had been available (with the hot tub!)’

Tristan Motteram, Cheltenham (Q-book)

17.8.15

‘We come here for complete relaxation – to get away from it all – and we always do. Monk Haven and the Apple Store just gets better every time. Thanks Jan and Jo ‘

Peter and Mary Durkin, Newport (Visitors book)

14.8.15

‘Our second visit to Monk Haven this summer but first stay in the Apple Store. A beautiful quiet retreat with the bonus of the hot tub. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and Jan’s veggie sausage quite wonderful. This is a special place. We will be back. Thank you’

Teresa and Donovan, Somerset (Visitors book)

9.8.15

‘Welcome = 11/10….Accomm = 11/10….Bed and shower = 11/10….Breakfast = 12/10 – yummy! Lord bless Monk Haven, Thank you!’

Gavin and Kathy Woan, Oxfordshire (Visitors book)

5.8.15

‘Lovely tasty food, beautiful surroundings, 1st class accommodation, hot tub excellent, excellent location for coastal walk, staff very attentive and warm – a very peaceful haven, thank you’

Simon and Beverly, Woking (Visitors book)

7.8.15

‘One of the most wonderful places we have stayed in. Lovely people and superb accommodation. Wish we could live here! Hot tub was soothing and just the relaxation we needed, especially under the stars! Thank you, we’ll be back soon! xx’

Anja and Pete, Hampton (Visitors book)

5.8.15

‘A 5 star stay – stayed for one night 06/08 after spending the whole day on Skomer island. We booked the Gofan room. The room was beautifully furnished with an extremely comfortable bed. Enjoyed wet room shower and relaxing on the patio in our bath robes with a glass of our own wine. The area is very peaceful and we had an excellent nights sleep. Breakfast was superb, everything freshly prepared. Cannot find any fault with this B&B, will be returning.’

Stephen Davies, Aberdare (Q-book)

8.8.15

“Skomer Island Trip -My lovely hubby booked this break as a birthday surprise for me to visit Skomer Island to see puffins. We found the hotel tucked away at the bottom of a quiet lane with plenty of parking and surrounded by beautiful nature, the house itself covered in ivy and nestled amongst the trees. We were blessed with lovely weather which always helps, but I can thoroughly recommend this Bed and Breakfast for such an enjoyable location and friendliness. They couldn’t do enough to make our break special and we had a lovely fish supper at The Griffin pub in Dale which again was such a picturesque place.”

Angela and Martyn, Caerphilly (Trip Advisor)

July 2015

‘Hot tub was beautiful! Breakfast amazing 🙂 Cannot wait to visit again, what a lovely place with lovely staff. Loved the extra mushrooms xxx’

Hollie and Angharad Greaves, Leicester (Visitors book)

26.7.15

‘Thank you for all the extra treats and efforts it made our stay perfect – the best birthday present ever! A wonderful stay and we will come again – as often as possible! xx’

Sophie and Mike, Durham (Visitors book)

31.7.15

“Pembrokeshire bliss – We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate my partner’s 30th birthday and to visit Skomer Island – and we couldn’t have chosen a better place! Beautiful grounds with a gorgeous view – and just a few minutes walk down to the beach and the Pembrokeshire coastal walk, where you can walk just 15 minutes to catch a lovely view of Dale. The breakfast was superb – they even had delicious homemade vegetarian sausages! As mentioned by other reviewers, they pick up your Skomer Island tickets for you while you’re having breakfast, so you can have a leisurely morning without worrying about not being able to get tickets. This made such a difference to the day – a fab service going beyond what is expected. In the evening we ordered an evening picnic to have on our patio, which really was the best way to end the day after exploring Skomer. The food was fab – and with the evening sun beating down, it made it even better!…

Read more of this review

Harriet and Mike, Cardiff (Trip Advisor)

5.7.15

“A two night stay – We are two couples…looking to visit the Puffins on nearby Skomer Island….The main house is the base for admin and breakfast. Arranged up a short slope are six apartments,all nicely fitted out for couples. Stone built and newly appointed with super beds and bathrooms they drew approval from all our fellow guests. We were met the instant we arrived and shown to our rooms;information from staff and visitor packs all made us feel right at home…We decided to visit the beach which is an easy five minutes walk away and well worth seeing. If you choose not to travel out for supper at the many good local pubs , the in house hamper service with home made pastries and salads with pickles and bread(including gluten free)were well worth trying. A quiet peaceful nights sleep was succeeded by a first class breakfast experience that any establishment would do well to copy…We spent two nights here this time, next time will be longer”

Read complete review here

Keiran and Stella, Cirencester (Trip Advisor)

5.7.15

 

“PERFECT – My husband and I stayed in Caradog for two nights in June in order to visit Skomer Island. Our stay couldn\’t have been more perfect. A really relaxing atmosphere where everthing has been thought of. Jo and Jan are excellent hosts. Happy to do an early breakfast for the Skomer trip and we would really recommend the packed lunch. The real icing on the cake is Alex queuing for your Skomer tickets whilst you eat the delicious breakfast. We would really recommend Monk Haven as a beautiful,relaxing place to stay where they have thought of everthing to make your stay perfect.”

Sally and Phil, UK (Q - book)

5.5.15

“Wonderful countryside retreat – Clean and well presented accommodation, we loved the hot tub! Jan and Jo were the most welcoming of hosts and nothing seemed too much trouble….extra breakfasts for extra morning arrival, collection of Skomer tickets for us all so that we didn’t have an early morning dash to the coast. Would definitely recommend Monk Haven to our friends.”

Mrs Wallington, Dudley (Q -book)

25.6.15

‘Welcoming and luxurious – A wonderfully relaxing and luxurious place to stay. Very friendly and welcoming with superb food. Highly recommended. Thank you Jan and Jo”

Paul Thompson, Cheddar (Q-book)

3.7.15

 

“Trip to Skomer – Jo was a treasure and wonderful to have someone pick up our tickets for the ferry to go to Skomer. Breakfast was excellent especially, the vegetarian sausage.”

David Serbousek, West Midlands (Q - book)

29.6.15

“Just what we wanted – Was just looking for somewhere close to St Martin’s Haven as we were on the evening boat trip. Found something much better. Friendly welcome, comfortable room and fantastic breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausages and particularly bacon. Whiskey marmalade was also superb. Thoroughly recommended”

Mrs Helen Barry, Bristol (Q - book)

25.6.15

“Perfect base for Skomer with exceptional service – We spent a wonderful night at Monk Haven before visiting Skomer. The beautiful clean crisp fresh suites are recently renovated, set in an idyllic peaceful spot only mins from a secluded beach. The hosts are very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was excellent lots of fresh, homemade produce. We were also able to purchase homemade packed lunches to take with us on our day trip, and the hosts even arranged our tickets to Skomer for us on the morning of our trip so we could enjoy a leisurely breakfast. A real gem! Would definitely stay again”

Juliana Hughes, UK (Q - book)

23.6.15

“Visiting the Puffins – Lovely stay very peaceful, lovely people so friendly,breakfast was a delight. Obtaining our tickets to enable us to visit Skomer Island was so helpful. I would recommend this venue to anyone especially if you wish to visit Skomer”

Jean Olejnik, UK (Q - book)

23.6.15

“Our stay at Monk Haven Manor – Loved it! A beautiful quiet interesting area. Very comfortable, clean and fresh. The food was prompt and tasty. The welcome was warm, very friendly and knowledgable about the area. Loved the local too (Brook Inn) great grub and walking distance. Top notch + puffins………”

Mrs Walker, UK (Q - book)

17.6.15

“Oasis in Pembrokeshire – We stayed at Monk Haven for four nights while doing the Pembrokeshire Coast Path, and it is ideally suited for this as you can walk to the path down a lane in 5 minutes. We stayed in Gorfan, one of the lovely new rooms with its own sun trap patio. Monk Haven is also the place to stay if you are visiting the nearby island of Skomer as they have the brilliant service of going to get your tickets for you while you eat breakfast ( which is delicious with lots of homemade and local produce). The B&B sits in it’s own beautiful calm and wooded valley with a picturesque church in the grounds. I will be recommending it to my friends and hope to return”

Sarah Moth, Colchester (Trip Advisor)

June 2015

“The best B&B ever -Stayed for 2 nights in what is the best B&B I have ever stayed in. The new accommodation is very stylish, the breakfasts are wonderful and the proprietors very warm and friendly. The fact that they will get your Skomer tickets for you whilst you enjoy a leisurely breakfast makes for an excellent start to the day. Try this place, you won’t regret it.”

Terry Dickens, Chepstow (Trip advisor)

07.06.15

“A great weekend – We wanted to book somewhere close to the Skomer Island (to see the puffins!) and Monk Haven Manor had very good reviews. These were well deserved and we had a lovely stay. Jo and Jan are fantastic hosts and the rooms are in a great peaceful setting.”

Kurtiss Andrews, UK (Q-book)

08.06.15

“Monk Haven Hideaway – We stayed for a couple of nights. Great location tucked away in a beautiful corner of Pembrokeshire. Breakfast was excellent as was our room.”

Tony Swann, UK (Q-book review)

10.06.15

‘Make time and Go!’ – For anyone looking for accommodation in this part of the world, Monks Haven Manor should be high on the list. The other reviews you may read will extol the location, comfort and breakfast, all true and then some but as with most things it’s the people running the business that make it six star instead of the five allowed on this web site. Jan and Jo have made it an absolute pleasure, a helping hand with recommendations and then dinner reservations, polite inquiries when our breakfast order seemed confusing (our fault) and even more help when a mobile phone had gone astray and all with a smile.”

Mr Walton, (Q-book) 31.5.15

‘May Bank Holiday’ – Excellent accommodation,superb breakfast, set in a truly amazing location. First class. We will return!”

Jane Hammond, Warwick (Q-book)

27.5.15

“A haven of…..pure bliss and relaxation. What a place! My husband and I booked a three night stay to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. From when we arrived we couldn’t have been treated any better. The Apple Store is a gem with its hot tub and log burner – so cosy! The hosts, and in particular Jo, were so welcoming and couldn’t do enough. They even drove to Martins Haven, waited in the queue for over an hour to get us tickets to Skomer Island (a must see!) whilst we relaxed back at Monk Haven and enjoyed a very scrummy breakfast that Jo had cooked! Nothing was too much trouble. In fact we were having such a fab time we decided to stay an extra night! It was perfect! Thank you so much Monk Haven – we’ll be back!!”

The Stevens, Ashford (Trip Advisor) 29.5.15

“Great for Skomer -We were 2 friends who stayed in the twin room in the new conversion. We had a very warm welcome and were handed a jug of fresh milk to go in our fridge for tea and coffee and were joined by the house dog when we sat outside with our coffee. It made it all seem very homely. The property is situated at the bottom of a valley with a lovely wooded walk to the beach and coastal path. At the time of our visit, the wood was carpeted in bluebells and wild garlic. There is also a small picturesque church right next to the property. The beds were very comfortable and as we were going to Skomer on the early boat for a photography course with Andy Davies, the owners were very happy to provide an early breakfast which was lovely and homemade with touches like fresh milk in a jug and butter in a dish instead of wrapped portions. They also provide a packed lunch for £7 with homemade bread and cake. We were even offered sunblock for the island! We would have no hesitation in recommending this very welcoming b&b and look forward to staying next time we go to Skomer Island.”

Ann Anderson, UK (trip Advisor)

26.5.15

‘A great find!’ Friendly family run B&B. Spacious comfortable accommodation in tranquil setting. Excellent breakfast with great cooking and home made jams. Great area to explore”

Dr Theo Scofield, Emsworth (Q-book)

26.5.15

‘The perfect place to stay when visiting Skomer Island. ‘ Superb location, high quality accomodation, excellent food and attentive hosts. If you are visiting Skomer / West Pembrokeshire and love magnificent natural surroundings, this is the place to stay. Plus, the hot tub really helps sooth those tied muscles!”

The Minchins, Reading (Q-book)

25.5.15

‘Fabulous!’ – A wonderful comfortable stay in one of the newly refurbished rooms, with everything we needed and more, including a very tasty breakfast in the main house and fantastically friendly people. I don\’t think there is a more peaceful & beautiful spot in Pembrokeshire. Thank you!”

Ali Hale, UK (Q-book)

25.5.15

‘Beautiful Settings’ We loved our stay at Monk Haven Manor, it was very friendly and the kind staff are more than helpful. A stones throw walk through some pretty woodlands to a small private beach and the rooms are very clean and quiet. Breakfast is great with home grown or local produce used. Thank you so much for keeping an eye on our 2 dogs whilst we went to Skomer, we hope to be back again sometime in the future”

Sarah Smith, UK (Q-book)

26.5.15

“Recommend this, don’t hesitate -Wow, what can I say that captures how wonderful our hosts were. Jan and Jo you make a great team, both so lovely and friendly. We stayed in the Apple Store which was so calm and private. We enjoyed beautifully cooked breakfasts plus homemade bread and jams; with refills on offer. Our hosts couldn’t do enough to make the stay perfect. We will be recommending you and hoping to come back for a second visit. Thank you for a lovely stay.”

The Tillings, Gloucestershire (Trip Advisor)

25.5.15

“Exceedingly good -Absolutely over the moon with everything. From the location, to the warm welcome we received, and amazing homemade sausages and jams! Couldn’t fault anything. The Apple Store was perfect – we will be back soon!”

Abi Greaves (Trip Advisor)

24.5.15

“A Hidden delight -Tucked away deep in a wooded valley with a picturesque church, Monks Haven Manor is as peaceful a location as it sounds. Accommodation is modern and comfortable internally with all the facilities you would need. Especial mention to the showers, which have plenty of water pressure! I am particularly grateful that the owners offer to organise the tickets for the boat to Skomer, going down to St Martens Head to queue and purchase while you eat a relaxing breakfast. I can recommend Jan’s homemade jams, and her delicious recipe for Glamorgan Sausage. Special thanks also to the lovely Jo for all her effort, enthusiasm and the warm welcome. I will definitely be back soon!”

Bill Ball, Macclesfield (Trip Advisor)

25.5.15

“A great place to stay! -What a superb B&B, we stayed overnight on Saturday 16th May. We were met by a very charming lady Jo on our arrival, she showed us our rooms. We had booked 3, every one was spotless and we were all totally satisfied with them. It was so quiet here, set in a wood with a small beach a few minutes walk down the lane. We had breakfast at 8, plenty to eat all pre ordered the night before, along with fruit, cereal, toast with home made jams and preserves, (these are available to purchase too) We booked here because we were going to Skomer on the Sunday, a brilliant bonus for us was, we did not have to rush down to get to the booking office, The owners went and got our tickets for us !!!!, amazing I can not praise the service enough, I will not hesitate in telling all of my friends about The Monk Haven, we will definitely stay here again the next time we head over that way. Well done, agree with the other comments the best B&B I have ever stayed in too Room Tip: All the rooms a fantastic, there is the Apple Store which has a Wood Stove and a Hot Tub”

Mark E - Weymouth (Trip Advisor)

18.05.15

“An absolute pleasure -I booked rooms at Monk Haven Manor because everywhere I tried was full. Next time I visit the area, I won’t stay anywhere other than Monk Haven. The accommodation, breakfast, service, welcome, etc were all faultless, and Joanne made us feel like nothing was too much trouble. The surroundings are stunning – beautiful gardens, seclusion, private woodland and beach. Not only the best B&B in Pembrokeshire I’ve ever stayed in, but quite possibly the best British B&B I’ve stayed in.”

Ben Locke - Forest of Dean (Trip Advisor)

18.03.15

“Truly stunning secluded location with the old church next door,high quality first class b&b,we were amazed how nice & helpfull the staff were, thanks all, see you next year!”

Leon Morgan - Wales (Facebook)

18.05.15

“Great for Skomer!’ – We were 2 friends who stayed in the twin room in the new conversion. We had a very warm welcome and were handed a jug of fresh milk to go in our fridge for tea and coffee and were joined by the house dog when we sat outside with our coffee. It made it all seem very homely. The property is situated at the bottom of a valley with a lovely wooded walk to the beach and coastal path. At the time of our visit, the wood was carpeted in bluebells and wild garlic. There is also a small picturesque church right next to the property. The beds were very comfortable and as we were going to Skomer on the early boat for a photography course with Andy Davies, the owners were very happy to provide an early breakfast which was lovely and homemade with touches like fresh milk in a jug and butter in a dish instead of wrapped portions. They also provide a packed lunch for £7 with homemade bread and cake. We were even offered sunblock for the island! We would have no hesitation in recommending this very welcoming b&b and look forward to staying next time we go to Skomer Island.”

Ann Anderson, UK  (Q-booking system review)

18.05.15

“The best – Stay here!” – “Congratulations, fellow traveller, you have just found the best place to stay in the area!….
…..We stayed in ‘The Apple Store’ which was just delightful….All finished to the highest standard, you will be more than contented here……..you will fall in love with this remarkable place.

And the food! Breakfasts were completely delicious with local ingredients cooked beautifully…..Jan’s homemade bread and jams are especially good. Vegetarians are well catered for and I would make the five-hour trip from home again just for the veggie sausages!

Jan, Joanne and family are truly excellent hosts and provide such incredible hospitality that, within minutes of arrival you’ll find yourself wondering why you’ve ever thought to stay anywhere else.

Like so many others, I cannot rate Monk Haven Bed and Breakfast highly enough. Five stars seem inadequate. I shall return and soon.”

Andrew and Kevin, Rotherham (Trip Advisor)

15.04.2015

“What an utter joy!!” – This has got to be one of, if not the best B&B we have ever stayed in! The setting is idyllic, the rooms are beautiful, the breakfast, all made with local ingredients, absolutely fabulous, the welcome and enthusiasm of the people there an utter joy. We stayed there around a trip to Skomer Island and could not have been more relaxed and at ease. We will be going back!”

Steve and Nicky Rogers, Rotherham (Trip Advisor)

11.04.2015

“Surprise anniversary weekend away” – “Wow! Wow! Wow! Just returned from a lovely weekend at Monk Haven. We stayed in The Apple Store, excellent facilities, warm & cozy. Like you’re own self contained cottage, everything we needed including soft toweling robes & slippers to wear after your dip in the hot tub! The owners & Jo are very friendly & lovely, very helpful when asking where or what to do in the area. Nothing is too much trouble. We have already booked for Christmas to enjoy all over again! Thank you Monk Haven for making our anniversary weekend perfect!”

Sandy Watson, Banbury (Trip Advisor)

07.04.2015

“Relaxing Break!!” – “This is the place to get away from busy everyday life!!! a beautifull Manor house set in pretty country side surroundings with a stream running through, a walk through the Manor garden gate supprisingly takes you a secluded beach………We stayed in the “Apple store” a little cosy hide away at the bottom of the garden with hot tub!! And a real log burning fire what more can you want!! We were cooked a full hearty breakfast by the owner’s who are excellent cook’s in the dinner room in the Manor House, it was the best ever breakfast so far, it will be hard to be beaten, even the toasted breads are home made…….The stay went too quickly and we didn’t want to go home,but we will be back!”

Jason O'Connell, Leamington-Spa (Trip Advisor)

01.04.2015

“Our Best B&B stay – EVER! We stayed in the Apple Store – more like a mini cottage – with our own personal hot tub looking out over the glorious gardens. The setting is idyllic and just moments from a tiny secluded bay. The breakfast was divine and Jo was so welcoming. We were only there for one night but felt as though we had had a weeks holiday. Thankyou very much.

Emma Rawlins, Hay-on-Wye(Trip advisor)

20.3.15 

“Beat expectations – My second time at Monk Haven and even better than I remember; lovely facilities and a warm welcome with every effort to make you feel at home, thank you”

Mr T.G King, Chester (online review)

11.03.15

“Yet another great stay – This is our 4th visit to Monk Haven Manor and it wont be our last. Always a lovely warm welcome and a breakfast to die for. We would recommend staying in the Apple Store with own hot tub for the perfect getaway”

Graham Crowley, Pyle (online review)

8.03.15

 

 

“Lovely place to stay – gorgeous food!!”

Sophie and Nick, Bath (Visitors Book)

20.02.15

“Saw shooting stars from the hot-tub and just had a walk through the “magic woods” to the beach. Jo’s been so welcoming – we’ve had a lovely stay. Thank you!”

Isabelle and Enrico Ramaglias, Oxfordshire (Visitors Book)

19.02.15

“What a lovely place to stay for our 50th wedding anniversary. A beautiful hide-away and we have thoroughly enjoyed it.”

Phil and Vicky Yeomans, West Midlands (Visitors Book)

11-16.02.15

“Whisked here for a surprise birthday treat. Perfect in every way – thank you for making us so welcome – we’ll be back!!”

Clare and Adam, Winchester (Visitors book)

8.02.15

“Arhosiad bendigedig. Wonderful stay and lovely break for us at this time of the year. Made the most of the hot tub even on a cold January night. Thank you very much. Diolch yn fawr.”

Joy ac Iddon Hall, Gwynedd (Visitors Book)

30.01.15

“Just a brisk overnight stop. Wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the surroundings.”

Hugh and Liz Rees, Ascot (Visitors Book)

18.01.15

“Charming location. Charming accommodation. Charming hosts. Fabulous view of the stars from the secluded hot-tub complimented by a log burning stove in a stone cottage with a mezzanine bedroom and a fabulous breakfast – what’s not to love!”

Amanda French, Cardiff (Trip Advisor)

6.01.15

“A wonderful stay for 30th birthday, beautiful surroundings, wonderful location, will be back”

Ed and Emma, Pershore (Visitors Book)

14.01.15

“Couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay over New Years! Will highly recommend.”

Charlotte and Tomos, Cardiff (Visitors Book)

1.01.15

“A wonderful Xmas retreat! Our second stay and won’t be the last!”

Sandy and Martin, Cheltenham (Visitors Book)

24-28.12.15